Sunday, October 25, 2009

Sunday Salon: What to Read Next?

I admit to being a little tired of blogging and being online after the readathon! It was quite a marathon, but I am so happy I participated this time. I enjoyed the community and I feel like I know a lot of people that I never came across before, or who intimidated me with their super-impressive blogs before. So great stuff, participating!

However, now I must be in post-party depression or something as I have no idea what to read next. I keep picking books up and then setting them down, staring at my bookshelves as though the next book should just pick me and I cannot decide! I think I may continue with Rosemary Sutcliff's Arthurian world with Sword at Sunset. But, if I am in an Arthurian mood, maybe I should finish off Mary Stewart's Arthurian saga by reading The Wicked Day. I read the Merlin trilogy some years back and adored it (really, if you like King Arthur and have not read Mary Stewart's amazing trilogy, I cannot recommend it highly enough). Really, the only thing stopping me from reading The Wicked Day is that it's about Mordred (though a very positive portrayal of him, from what I hear). But I feel like I should at least get that series off my back before starting a different Arthur series.

I also thought of reading Josephine Tey's The Daughter of Time, to get into Richard III agian. And then I remembered Kage Baker's In the Garden of Iden on my shelf, too, that a friend recommended to me so long ago.

So basically, I have no idea what I will be reading next! I will see what catches my attention, at least a little, and go from there. I think it will be Arthur because now I'm in an Arthur state of mind. You'll see why when I get around to reviewing The Lantern Bearers. In the next few days, I hope- I don't like to fall behind on my reviewing!

13 comments:

  1. I think readathon sort of naturally leads to a slump. I hope you feel better soon, and don't be afraid to take a break if you need to!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Just wanted to stop by and say thanks for your cheers during the 'Thon. You asked about a couple of books that I read, so I thought I'd respond "directly" to you. I did like and enjoy the New Zealand book, but it probably wasn't the best choice for me to start out with. The author combines her story with the history of NZ, so it flips back and forth in time. It's full of lots of information, and was unlike anything I've read before in travel lit-land. I also enjoyed All Quiet, but it wasn't really a great choice for me to listen to for this challenge. There were too many descriptions of dead bodies, killing animals and other people for me to truly enjoy it (especially while eating...yuck). That being said, I did really like it. It's very emotionally evocative, and I'd like to physically read it next time. Might pick it for my live and in-person classics bookclub.

    Anyway, thanks again, and I hope you're recovering from your successful day of reading! Oh, and I'm also following you now, so I'll be sure to get your updates!

    Thanks,
    Laura
    pleasepardontheinterruption.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  3. I do own the Merlin Trilogy by Mary Stewart (by some weird luck I found all three of them during the library sale) and you are the third person in a row that strongly recommends it. I really really will have to start reading this author soon.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I read the Merlin Trilogy years ago (loved it!) but never got to The Wicked Day - probably because of the whole Mordred thing :-). I'm in a bit of a post-Readathon slump today myself, but it could be that I'm just tired!

    Thanks for your great cheerleading during the 'thon yesterday!

    ReplyDelete
  5. That post-readathon malaise seems to happen every time. Last time, blogging was light the whole week after the event. Also love the Mary Stewart books as well as Josephine Tey. But maybe you just need a wee bit of a break before you make that next decision. Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete
  6. very seductive bookish title...
    :-)

    ReplyDelete
  7. I am pretty sure you won't be alone in your post readathon letdown.

    So glad you got to participate this time!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I had a hard time picking out my post-Read-a-thon read, too. I read so many engaging books during that time, that it was hard to jump into something slower (so I didn't).

    ReplyDelete
  9. Amanda- I think I'm over the slump, as I finally settled on a book- Sword at Sunset. But I agree sometimes I should take a break!

    Laura- I will respond to your comments on your blog :-)

    Lilly- Definitely give it a go! The series sat on my shelf for a long time before I picked it up, and I was blown away by it.

    Florinda- Maybe we can read The Wicked Day together! Let me know if you're interested.

    Frances- What? A break?!

    Heavenly Muse- Thank you ;-)

    Marg & Ronnica- Thanks for your thoughts- glad to know I'm not alone!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Thanks for stopping by my blog during the Read-a-Thon. I haven't picked up a book since I went to bed Sunday morning. Actually that's not true. I read to my daughter for about 20 minutes before bed.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Sometimes I have a hard time deciding what to read as well. Even though I have a ton of books, I can stand in front of the shelves being indecisive for hours. Maybe the problem is too many books?

    ReplyDelete
  12. Mary Stewart's series are fabulous and I do love Kage Baker. Glad you found a book to get you over your slump! I still can't quite bring myself to read a book if I know it's YA - as silly as not rereading a good book.

    ReplyDelete
  13. I think it's easy to feel this way after the readathon. I know I have. My kids really enjoyed the Lantern Bearers as well.

    ReplyDelete

I read every comment posted on this blog, even if it sometimes takes me a while to respond. Thank you for taking the time and effort to comment here! Unless you are spamming me, in which case, thanks for nothing.